I am enthusiastic about Tutor & Open edX

Hi All,
I am new to Tutor and i have seen this community is very helpful i wanted contribute to this community in my capacity. Please let me know what i have to do for contribution into the community.

Regards

2 Likes

Welcome Parvin :wave: Great to hear you’re interested in contributing! What is your experience level with Tutor? Are there any particular ways you’re interested in contributing?

One way that anyone can help–regardless of experience–is by asking and answering questions here on the forums!

Interesting, I have an idea of a contribution if you want. It remains to be seen if it is worthy.

Tutor made the installation of edX much easier and provided a very useful plugin management tool. Thanks to the plugins, we can very easily play with the many flags that edX offers.
And that’s the thing, there are a lot of flags.

What could make life even easier would be an interface (Terminal, GUI or Web) that would make it easy to manage the different edX settings under Tutor.

The idea would be something like a plugin generator/manager.

Example of output :

disable_registration.yml :

name: disable_registration
version: 14.0.4
patches:
  common-env-features: |
    "ALLOW_PUBLIC_ACCOUNT_CREATION": false

In this way, let’s say a user wants to configure SMTP or add a YouTube API key, it will be possible to do so from the interface that will generate a Tutor plugin.
Also parameters like choosing the version of some dockers. For example, changing the version of the elasticsearch docker or other.

As for the content, we could imagine that the tool could easily update itself by retrieving the database from Github. This way, it would be possible to take advantage of the latest additions from the community without waiting.

What do you think about it? :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hi @kmccormick ,