Unable to connect to docker-compose

Hi, I am new to Docker and Tutor, and backend management in general. I am on Windows 11.

I am getting an error on the command line to do with docker-compose, I think it is having problems connecting to it. It comes up when I try to quickstart tutor, update the images or create a new backend user.
I am confused as to what I should do. Any help would be great, thanks.

The error:

Error: Command failed with status 1: docker-compose -f C:\Users\Niall Tuohy\AppData\Local\tutor\tutor\env\local\docker-compose.yml -f C:\Users\Niall Tuohy\AppData\Local\tutor\tutor\env\local\docker-compose.prod.yml -f C:\Users\Niall Tuohy\AppData\Local\tutor\tutor\env\local\docker-compose.tmp.yml --project-name tutor_local -f C:\Users\Niall Tuohy\AppData\Local\tutor\tutor\env\local\docker-compose.jobs.yml -f C:\Users\Niall Tuohy\AppData\Local\tutor\tutor\env\local\docker-compose.jobs.tmp.yml run --rm lms-job sh -e -c
echo "Loading settings $DJANGO_SETTINGS_MODULE"

./manage.py lms manage_user  --superuser --staff penguin niall@gmail.com

./manage.py lms changepassword penguin

Iā€™m installing on Ubuntu on Google cloud, but having a similar problem with docker-compose.

I googled the permission error i get, but the suggested repairs donā€™t fix the issue.

Hereā€™s the error:
ERROR: .PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: ā€˜/home/matthew_petersen/.local/share/tutor/env/local/docker-compose.ymlā€™

Iā€™ve tried CH modding that file to no avail.

Suggestions?

Matthew P

1 Like

Hi @nialldev and @matthew.petersen68 , welcome to this forum. I donā€™t know the exact error, but If you donā€™t have other vital apps in docker, I would try to uninstall docker-compose and docker and install it again in a clean environment following the step by step from the documentation to have the proper permissions from docker.
Docker: Docker Engine installation overview | Docker Documentation
Docker-compose: Overview | Docker Documentation