How to add new features like django apps in tutor?

Good day! Before I begin, you may wonder that there is already an existing topic here regarding this matter related to this. But it has been closed already so I don’t even know if the process is still the same. Though I tried following their instructions, I still have a lot of questions since if you would ask me regarding my knowledge, I am a complete beginner. I am not even finished on my course in python django. Maybe by this way, all of you could figure out how low my programming skills were :sweat_smile:

Anyway, how do I add a django app to Tutor?
I saw an instruction before in a native installation to perform the following:

To Install:

1. Install with pip install -e . within this folder within the edx platform virtual environment.
  2. Add “name_of_repository” to the “ADDL_INSTALLED_APPS” array in lms.env.json (you may have to create it if it doesn’t exist.)
  3. Run migrations.
  4. Start/restart the LMS.

Templates Directory

Add this to envs.common:

TEMPLATES_DIR = { … OPENEDX_ROOT / ‘features’ / ‘name_of_repository’ / ‘templates’, }

ADD TO LMS URLS

urlpatterns += [ url(r’', include(‘name_of_repository_pages.urls’)), ]

but it seems quite difficult to trace here in tutor. I have read the tutor docs but I am confused because as I have said, I am a complete beginner.

Please help me. I don’t know how to include a feature on our newly running openedx-tutor instance.

Is this your own django app or an existing third party django app?

If it’s your own django app and it’s focused on Open edX, the best way to do it is probably by implementing it as a django app plugin. In that case, you don’t need to make a Tutor plugin at all; you just need to use one of the two methods for installing an additional python package.