Re-Use Course name colliding

We are still adding course material to an instructor paced course (in progress) and I need to create next years course which will be a re-run. How can I create (re-run) next years course so that students can start signing up for it without the name collision? I had the idea I would create a place holder course which they could sign up to and when the first one is completed I would just use re-run, but that becomes a name collision. And of course any students would be wiped out. Can import/export help?

1 Like

You’ve just about got it!

The place holder course allows learners to sign up but not enter the new run. Once you think the current run is (mostly) done being updated, you can export/import into the new course run.

Definitely review all the settings, dates, etc. and beta test before the new version goes live. Good luck!

1 Like

Great, thanks!
idX is intensely complex and several times I’ve collided with it where I needed to come up with a new solution. Being able to re-use is a key part and I’m happy to have the knowledge to move forward.

1 Like