Search / Sorting in Library?

I installed the bitnami stack and edx-search seems not to be included. How can I make it work, since edx-search/README.md at master · edx/edx-search · GitHub provides nothing like installation instructions.
I wonder, why is such an essential like searching in libraries and courses is not implemented by default anyway?

1 Like

@hli Simply because nobody has implemented it yet :slight_smile:

There is actually an effort looking at reimplementing content libraries on top of blockstore - but I don’t know if searching is currently planned as a feature. CC @arbrandes @marcotuts

@antoviaque, searching the new Content Libraries via the Studio/MFE interface is already implemented, as a matter of fact. :slight_smile:

I’m not sure on what @hli’s after, though. There definitely is learner-facing course searching via the Discovery service, for instance - but I have no experience with the Bitnami stack and whether it’s deployed/configured.

As a matter of fact there is no search input whatsoever… If you have hundreds of content objects in your library a search field would be crucial.

1 Like

@hli You are currently using the old Content Libraries interface - @arbrandes you are referring to the search already being implemented in the new upcoming version based on blockstore?

@antoviaque and @hli, yes, sorry, I meant in the new MFE - the terminology is a bit fuzzy.

@hli, I’m referring to frontend-app-library-authoring, which is intended to replace the current implementation of Libraries in Studio (and elsewhere). Unfortunately, it’s not quite ready for production use, yet, and might not be for a while. You can keep track at this wiki page.

Thanks. So, for the record: there is no way in current versions of Open Edx to sort or search library contents? The new MFE is it implemented in devstack already?