What is the difference between Memberpress Courses and Open edX?

Hello!

I’m a French conversation coach, and I took a couple of courses from HarvardX built on the EdX platform.

I already use MemberPress Courses to build my own courses, but I’m very tempted to switch to the self-hosted OpenEdX platform.

I’ve Googled to find differences between these two platforms from a course builder’s point of view without much success.

Can anyone help, please?

Many thanks! :slight_smile:

Hi @Llyane and welcome!

I don’t believe I’ve heard of MemberPress before. This video may help you understand the Open edX platform against some other big names. I hope it’s a good start! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emfEXgMt-gI

Thank you for the resource!
However, I now have MemberPress Courses and wanted to stop paying my subscription. To decide, I need a comparative list of features and functionalities between MemberPress Courses and OpenEdX.

If you can come up with a list of features you utilize in MemberPress, I may be able to help a bit. But as it is a platform that I have not heard of, it’s not one I believe we have a comparison for.

Hi Sarina,

I haven’t started using the ‘Courses’ side of the MemberPress plugin yet. Currently, I only use the Membership part of the plugin, and my courses are created with static pages without any additional functionalities.

I was planning to start using the ‘Courses’ feature when I came across the OpenEdX option.

What initially attracted me to MemberPress was the ability to manage users as members, allowing me to handle subscription payments and revoke access when they stop paying. Subsequently, they added the ‘Courses’ feature.

MemberPress is rated as the #1 Membership plugin for WordPress: 8 Best WordPress Membership Plugins [2021] │Elementor

Many thanks!

Hi, @sarina !
Here is a video that describes the features and use of MemberPress Courses: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOedEnUBozw