How do I create my own MFEs?

Hello to all,

I am a developer and new to using docker and OpenEdx. I have OpenEdx installed locally using tutor. I’m looking for a way to significantly customize the homepage, the course catalog (to make it a catalog of programs containing courses) and add additional pages. I recently read about the concept of MFE which seems to me more suitable than comprehensive theming to avoid breaking my modifications.
I installed tutor-mfe, enabled the plugin and restarted tutor. Everything seems to work well, I see the new authentication pages, new discussion… (original pages replaced by MFEs).

However, I have a hard time to understand the structure of tutor and the tutor-mfe plugin and how to create my own MFEs (for example the homepage). First, I can’t find the code of the MFEs in tutor-mfe so that I can use them as an example.

To create my own MFE, I understood well, first I have to add the MFE to the config:

tutor config save --set HOMEPAGE_MFE_APP=“{‘name’: ‘homepage’, ‘port’: anyrandomone?, ‘repository’: ‘linktomygithub repos’}”

Next, where should I write the code for my homepage? I’m trying to follow the tutor-mfe plugin README but I would need documentation that assumes no prior knowledge. I also read that I need to modify the env settings but even having read some of the Tutor documentation, I can’t really figure it out yet.

Thank you for your help,

hello @carodak, wellcome to open edX I think to create a new MFE you can use the frontend-template-application you can fork and customize according to your requirements (create a homepage). This is a good starting point. To test in tutor you can add it like you said

tutor config save --set HOMEPAGE_MFE_APP=“{‘name’: ‘homepage’, ‘port’: anyrandomone?, ‘repository’: ‘linktomygithub repos’}”

After that, run tutor dev start --mount=<./path/to/your/mfe> homepage to mount a dev server for your MFE

1 Like

Hi @dcoa,