How to create and integrate my custom Django REST app to Tutor

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie and trying to write my custom Django REST application. I have conducted some research and came across this discussion: How to integrate an independent application as a plugin into Tutor.

In summary, these are the steps that I understand:

Step 1: Build your own Django application using this template: GitHub - openedx/edx-cookiecutters: Open edx public templates for apps, libraries and services. (I assume using the IDA). For example: GitHub - openedx/ecommerce: Service for managing edX's product catalog and handling orders for those products.

Step 2: Follow this plugin template to integrate both my Django app (BE) and the custom React mfe (FE): GitHub - overhangio/cookiecutter-tutor-plugin: Cookiecutter for tutor plugins. For example: GitHub1s.

If these steps are correct, I have some questions:

1. I want to create simple BE and FE custom apps that communicate with each other when I turn on my local Docker. However, the examples have complex configurations (Docker, Caddy) that are challenging for a newbie like me to follow. Are there any simpler examples or documentation available?
  2. How do I set up the codebase for development? Specifically, if I want to rebuild the FE and BE when I make a code change and need to test the new changes, how can I do that?
  3. In the examples, the BE endpoint is hidden, as shown below:

The URL on line 30 is from @edx/frontend-platform. If I want to make it simpler to run on my local Docker, how can I configure the BE to expose itself, for example, on localhost:2333?

Any help is valuable to me. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Can anyone solve these issues?