Plugin Development Using Git-based Source Code Repository Hosting Service

Good day fellow Developers!

I currently installed Open EdX tutor (nutmeg) on my remote instance via AWS. I am quite new to this so please bear with my low-level programming skills.

I am using a software called PUTTY to reach my instance remotely via SSH.

I installed tutor there and I would like to install additional plugins available such as android, richie, etc. I would like to configure my plugins via VS Code because editing it in putty is quite difficult and I know that the only way to do it so is to clone it in my git-based source code repository hosting service (I am using BITBUCKET on my end), clone it in my local computer, then open it in VS Code. If I finished my changes, I will git pull it from the Bitbucket, then git pull it in my remote instance. But here’s my problem…

1. I cannot locate the repository of my plugin (for example: the richie plugin) in my instance.
  2. If ever I find it, I don’t know how I could clone it in Bitbucket.

Furthermore, I don’t even know if I can even configure the plugins. I hope someone could help me. Thank you!

Welcome! Hopefully, I can point you to a few resources to get your going.

Firstly, using VS Code for development: Follow the Developing on Remote Machines using SSH and Visual Studio Code instructions to set up VS Code to access your VPS remotely.

1. You will install this dev pack: Remote Development - Visual Studio Marketplace

2. Here is a sample SSH config entry to place in your c:\users\MyUser\.ssh\config file (or equivalent on a Mac)

Host edx-dev
        # Or use a FQ domain name
        HostName 1.2.3.4
        User edx
        Port 22
        # If using an SSH (in Windows), use this syntax. 
        # You can omit for password-based authentication (I think)
        IdentityFile "C:/Users/user/ssh-keys/edx@edx-dev.key"