There’s a little known feature in Open edX called the
While nice to have, it’s sometimes broken especially when deleting a course. I spent some time to fix it, and I did fix an issue with deleting the course only to realize that most of the community doesn’t use it.
This feature can be enabled with the
ENABLE_SYSADMIN_DASHBOARD feature flag in the LMS and would be available on the
http://your_lms_url/sysadmin to delete courses and register new users among other “admin” features.
Here’s a couple of reasons on why we should remove this functionality:
- It’s not being used by most of the community (speculative guess) but still requires regular maintenance.
- It lives in the LMS although it has functionality that belongs to Studio, like course deletion. This leads to bugs that can only be solved via import tricks or serious refactoring.
- This is a perfect example of what should be a pluggable app because we’ve had a plugin system since Hawthorn.
- If removal is not an option, then let’s consider splitting it into two apps, and LMS sysadmin and a Studio sysadmin.
What do you think?