Coding CC Rights: Dave Ormsbee

Per the conversation here as well as OEP-54, I’m asking to formalize my involvement in the Open edX community via the Core Contributor program.

Who I am

My name is Dave Ormsbee (@dave on Slack, ormsbee on GitHub). I started working on what would become Open edX back in the MITx prototype days, a little over ten years ago. That group eventually became edX, which is where I worked until starting at tCRIL last November. Over the years, I’ve worked mostly on the server-side aspects of the teaching and learning areas of Open edX (LMS, Studio, ORA2, VAL, XBlock, Blockstore, etc.). I’ve also been involved in many architectural and performance related discussions, most recently in topics like our adoption of events and asynchronous messaging. I am currently focused on how to evolve our learning platform.

My Current Access and Why I Have It

I am currently an org admin for the openedx GitHub organization.

1. I use these permissions while taking my turn on the tCRIL on-call rotation, where we handle both access concerns and GitHub apps and secrets management.
  2. I’ve use this access to help debug operational issues with various integrations and tools that we use as a part of the CI setup for the Open edX platform.
  3. I’ve recently also used this access as a part of the work to transfer ownership of various Open edX assets from edX@2U to tCRIL, and just yesterday to transfer the Hooks framework repos from the eduNEXT GitHub org to openedx.
  4. On top of my defined duties, I also use my access to help others get work done when there is not yet a well-defined process to accomplish some task or to help respond to urgent issues.

I also have “write” access to all repos in the organization:

1. I have made and merged many features and fixes in a number of these repos over the years.
  2. I have used this access to update administrative data like OEP-2 compliance