Coding CC Rights: Kyle McCormick

Per the conversation here as well as OEP-54, I’m asking to formalize my involvement in the Open edX community via the Core Contributor program.

Who I am

Hello! :wave: My name is Kyle McCormick (@kdmccormick on GitHub and Slack). I’ve been working as a developer on the Open edX project for about 4 years, first as an intern at edX, then as a full edX employee, and now as a member of tCRIL. My major contributions to the platform are around the Content Core (block transformers, course_overviews, learning_sequences), the Learning MFE, Library Authoring, and Devstack. Lately, I’ve working to support the community’s move from Devstack to Tutor.

My Current Access and Why I Have It

I’m currently an organization-wide admin (aka “owner”) for the openedx GitHub organization. This grants me access to configure settings & user access on the organization and all of its repositories. It also grants me global write access, which means that I can push branches, leave qualifying PR reviews, and merge PRs for all repositories.

I use the admin-level permissions primarily while taking my turn on the tCRIL on-call rotation, where we handle both access concerns and GitHub apps and secrets management.

From time to time, I also use the admin access for housekeeping tasks such as fixing CI configuration, managing issue templates, updating repository descriptions and curating the pinned repositories. If I were to leave the tCRIL on-call rotation, I wouldn’t mind giving up this access, especially once we’re at a point where more repositories have dedicated maintainers who can be responsible for these sort of housekeeping tasks.